Stuffed baby eggplants – “alla Calabrese”

I was telling my mother the other day that I had made stuffed eggplants. “Che boni!” (delicious!) she exclaimed in her Veneto dialect. To her horror I proceeded to tell her that I had made them “Calabrese” style. She listened attentively to the recipe that I described and then exclaimed “magari i sara’ boni pero’ credo che i miei xe meio” (they are probably nice but I think mine are better). This is hardly unexpected. Italians are often territorial about their food; something from a different region can feel quite foreign to them. This makes for a very rich food culture but can present a problem for fussier individuals when they are presented with recipes that are not local. My mother will try most things as long as there is no dreaded coriandalo (coriander). My father, however, was quite a fussy eater, clearly favoring foods from his beloved Istria and the neighboring Friuli-Venezia Giulia. I don’t think he ever tasted Chinese food or Indian food in his 90 years – and might not even have eaten my stuffed eggplants if I had told him the recipe was Calabrese!

bowl of eggplant

Today at the Victoria Market I bought some gorgeous small purple striped eggplants (which I took the opportunity to photograph in my new orange recycled glass Spanish bowl). I love eggplants and all their varieties. Stuffed, fried, braised, in a peperonata – I would eat them every day if I could. I have posted eggplant recipes before – fried Venetian style and eggplant antipasto rolls.

The recipe I tried for stuffed eggplants “Calabrese” style was on an episode of SBS food that I saw a few weeks back. Smaller eggplants are halved, boiled and then stuffed with a mixture of bread crumbs, grated pecorino (sheep’s milk hard cheese), the eggplant flesh and herbs. They are then pan fried. Apparently it is impossible to eat just one! I didn’t write the recipe down so I tried to remember it and then added my own variants. Given that basil is in season, I added a handful of basil to the filling (they might have used parsley on the TV show), which gave it a fresh summery taste. It is terrific recipe that I will happily make again. I served them with a tomato sauce made with fresh tomatoes and basil. It was a delightful vegetarian meal which matched perfectly with a leafy green salad and a glass of Chrismont Arneis from the King Valley. Maybe I could have convinced my father to try this one!

20130216-071933.jpg

Stuffed eggplants – alla Calabrese
Serves 4 as a light lunch
8 medium sized eggplants (about 10cm in length)
1 cup fresh breadcrumbs
1/2 cup dried bread crumbs
2 cups grated Pecorino cheese (substitute Parmiggiano if unavailable)
2 large eggs
2 cloves fresh garlic, minced
Handful of fresh basil leaves
Salt and pepper to taste
Extra dried breadcrumbs (if needed)
Splash of milk (if needed)
Olive oil for shallow frying
1/4 – 1/3 cup white wine, for frying

Place a pot of water large enough to hold all the eggplants on the stove to boil. In the meantime, remove the stems from the eggplants then cut them in half longways. Place them in the pot of boiling water and cook until they are tender but still retain their shape (between 10 and 15 minutes depending on the size of the eggplants). Drain.

Once they are cool enough to handle, scoop out the flesh leaving leaving about 1/2 cm of flesh attached to the skin. Chop the flesh into smallish cubes and place on a larger strainer so that the water can seep out.

In the meantime prepare the other ingredients. Once the flesh has drained for about 15 minutes, place it in a large bowl with the other ingredients. Mix well with your hands. The consistency of the eggplant filling should be quite firm so that it holds together, so you may need to add more breadcrumbs if it is too soft or a splash of milk if it is too dry. Add salt and pepper to taste. Stuff the eggplants until all the mixture is used up.

Heat up a large non-stick frypan on medium heat and add the olive oil. Place the eggplants stuffing side down in the pan. Hopefully all of them will fit, otherwise cook in two batches. Cook stuffing side down for 5-7 minutes until they brown nicely. Flip them over, add the wine and lower the heat. Cook for about another 15 minutes with the lid on. The wine should have evaporated.

Serve with a simple tomato, garlic and basil sauce – use fresh tomatoes to make it if you have them.

5 comments on “Stuffed baby eggplants – “alla Calabrese”

  1. Ciao Paola,

    I know what you mean about Italians being “territorial bout their food”. Dad grew up in Gorizia (although his folks were originally from Bolognia – long story there) and mum was Friulana through and through. Neither tolerated the Southern cuisine. In fact, she often repeated a pharase her dad Giggi ‘l cogo (because he used to cook for the prisoners in the village Gaol he ran, I think) was given to use: “se i vien de la del Po, i xe tutti meridionali”. I tend not to be so parochial about Italian food. I like it all.

    Eggplants is a good example. I’m particularly fond of Eggplant Parmiggiana mum used to make. Slices of lightly grilled eggplant layered with tomato and basil sauce and parmesan cheese with, as dad used to say “un onta de cuel bon” but I’ve also cooked them in a manner almost identicval to this save for the addition of some finely chppoed and cooked pancetta magra.

    Mum always had eggplants in the garden about this time of year and Easter’s coming. Sounds like agood reason to chase some up and give this recipe a test run!

    Bye for now e bonna bona Pascua a tutti.

    Albert

    Like

    • I was at my mother’s when I noticed you had posted a comment – I immediately told her what you had written about ‘quei al de la del Po’ – how she laughed!!
      I agree with you that all Italian food is great – no matter where it comes from. Some of the loveliest dishes come from those ‘meridionali’.
      Buona Pasqua a te e i tuoi
      Paola

      Like

  2. Paola,

    I pride myself on giving every food opportunity a go, at least once. Especially so with Italian food but I will tackle anything other people have lived on figuring: if they’re still here, it was probably OK. I’ve even been known to despatch a witchetty grub once (tastes like peanut butter, sort of). Italian cuisine though, seems to encompass such a wide variety of ingredients; not much goes to waste. I remember mum making spaghetti with the black ink out of the squid we caught before we had the fish itself for mains. Seemed good to me.

    Not sure about the Vicentini though. My folks used to refer to them as “mangia gatti”. I used to think they were joking ’till I looked it up on the web recently. I don’t think I could look at the moggy the same way again if I tried “gnocchi col gat”. Then again…?

    Ciao

    Albert

    Like

Leave a Reply

